Do You Think You Want a Dog?

Little SandyAre you thinking you’d like to have a dog?  If so, that’s wonderful.   Because of their inherent nature, a dog will love you more than you will ever love it.  They are amazing creatures and deserve the respect they give to us.  However, I wish you to understand that taking care of a dog is similar to taking care of a child.  It is nothing to take on with a care-free attitude.  You must be responsible for ensuring it has FRESH food and water and make sure the containers you feed it out of are clean. Bathe them – they feel good like you do after you’ve had a bath.  Brush their hair and teeth.  Make sure they have a comfortable clean bed to rest and sleep on.  Potty train them with dignity and don’t hit them.   Play with them they love your attention.  Simply put, love them the way you would want to be loved and care for and please, please, please don’t leave them in a dirty backyard or cage or in the heat and cold.  Think how you would feel if you lived like that.

Now, from a dog’s perspective:

  • “My life is likely to last 10-15 years. Any separation from you will be painful for me. Remember that before you bring me home.
  • Give me time to understand what you want from me.
  • Place your trust in me – it’s crucial to my well-being.
  • Don’t be angry at me for long and don’t lock me up as punishment. You may have your work, your entertainment and your friends. I have only you.
  • Talk to me sometimes. Even if I don’t understand your words, I understand your voice.
  • Be aware that however you treat me, I’ll never forget.
  • Remember before you hit me that I have teeth that can crush the bones of your hand. Yet I choose not to bite you.
  • Before you scold me for being uncooperative, obstinate or lazy, ask yourself if something might be bothering me. Perhaps I’m not getting the right food, or I’ve been in the sun too long, or my heart is getting old and weak.
  • Take care of me when I get old. You, too, will grow old.
  • Go with me on difficult journeys. Never say, “I can’t bear to watch it” or “Let it happen in my absence.” Everything is easier for me if you are there. Remember I love you.”

There are many dogs out there that need homes.  I hope you find the one that suits your lifestyle and home.  Just remember to treat them the way you would want to be treated and loved. ~ Kathyann.

